home_page about_us our_mission projects_and_events members_roster officers_and_lpms community_awards priority_area state_conventions achievements newsletter documents calendar extras_for_members guestbook_and_testimonies contact_us facebook twitterr
The Minnesota Women of Today has three different statewide awards that are given to members outside of the organization each year. These awards are intended to recognize outstanding individuals in the different communities throughout the state who represent the ideals that Women of Today promotes. Local chapters submit nominations from their communities and the winners are selected at the state level. Please contact us if you know of a special person in the Aitkin community who should be considered for nomination of any of these awards.

Priority Area

Outstanding Personal with Developmental Challenges (OPDC)

OPDC is an award given to individuals who show leadership abilities, are involved in their local communities, and possess the ability to initiate ideas and innovations for new and exciting projects and programs. This award is given in collaboration with Friendship Ventures. Friendship Ventures determines the winner and the recipient receives a free week at Camp New Hope.

Recent Aitkin winners of OPDC include:

  • Emily Bellah 2010-11
  • Zachary Johnson 2011-12
  • Jackie Kiehm 2012-13

Outstanding Young Adult (OYA)

OYA is a scholarship award given to young adults for their outstanding service to their communities. These young adults show commitment to community service, an excellence in leadership abilities, and academic achievement. We believe they are our future leaders! The award recipients are in the 9th – 12th grade and the scholarship is sponsored by the MNWT Foundation. Our Aitkin chapter does this award on a local level as well. We accept scholarship applications from Aitkin High School students, and the recipient of our award is submitted to the state.

Recent Aitkin OYA state award winners include:

  • Emily Lundgren 2011-12
Priority Area

Women Who Impact (WWI)

WWI is an award given to honor outstanding adult women who are actively bettering their communities. This award is broken down into three different categories so that individuals can be recognized for their specific contributions. The category of Non-Profit is for women who have a commitment to serving others through community service, have a heart for volunteering, and show spiritual leadership. Another category is Youth Outreach, which emphasis work with special education, mentoring youth, participation in organizations such as 4-H or Scouts, or other avenues of outreach with youth under the age of 18. The last category is Women’s Advocacy, which is for individuals who have a passion for bettering the lives of other women through work with women’s shelter, adult education, and involvement in topics such as business, government, and healthcare.

Recent Aitkin recipients of WWI include:

  • Amy Wyant 2010-11
  • Roxy Appel-Wigton 2011-12
Home Page | About Us | Our Mission | Project and Events | Members Roster | Officers and LPMs
Community Awards | Priority Area | State Conventions | Achievements | Newsletter | Documents
Calendar | Extras for Members | Guestbooks and Testimonies | Contact Us